To Candidacy and Beyond: Weeks…Uhhh

On Friday I submitted the first draft of my candidacy proposal! It took longer than I thought: I assumed I would be done in about 3.5 months like my MA thesis, which was of a similar proscribed length. Of course I had health-related setbacks, as well as a number of other things due (a major grant proposal, a book chapter, a journal article) and things to do (RA work) that impeded progress. In total I worked on my proposal for 22 weeks and wrote 201 pages.


The final draft of my MA thesis, before references and appendices, when I went to defense was 118 pages. Following my defense it was whittled down to 108. In comparison, the drafts of all of my chapters for candidacy totaled 194 pages.

cand

 

When I finished editing my proposal, it was 122 double spaced pages, or 30,573 words. I imagine I have at least 20 pages (probably more; I meander a bit when I write) that need to be edited out or synthesized pending my committee’s comments and review. I will receive those later this week. Nevertheless, that’s a lot of pages and words. At one time though, I remember ten pages seeming impossible; hopefully this means writing the rest of the dissertation won’t seem as insurmountable.

After more than 1.5 years in this stage of my program, I’m finally almost done.

This entry was posted in PhDing (in doubt), to candidacy and beyond and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

