The night before surgery

‘Twas the night before surgery
And all through the house
not a creature was stirring
Not even a mouse…

Wait. No. That’s not how it goes does it?

In 13.5 hours I will be on the operating table and ready for my seventh surgery. Hopefully the last one as a result of my syndactyly.

I’m tired of being in constant pain. I’m tired of my wrist and arm being swollen. I’m tired of the pain killers making me tired.

The recovery means even more pain and even stronger pain killers, but at least I don’t have to pretend that I’m normal. My parents are here so I don’t have to worry about feeding myself and keeping my apartment neat.

I feel okay about everything, even eager I guess. But the wait is making me anxious.

Sleeping tonight is going to be tough, but when I wake up then I am just that much closer to this chapter being over.

IMG_6352.JPG

My hand and wrist will never look this way again.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The night before surgery

  1. Pingback: Representation is Important | danielle dissertates

Leave a Reply

